11 hours to go – Halloween and feeling quite calm actually

Only 11 hours to the start of the New York Marathon which I will be running, by the way.  And I am feeling quite calm. I have pinned my number to my NCT vest. I have had my pre marathon meal – I went for cous cous (so good they named it twice) over normal pasta, trivia fans. I have attached my timing chip to my shoe and got all my clothes ready for tomorrow.

We have spent a very enjoyable few days in New York eating and new yorking.

I am looking at nearly everyone and thinking, “Are you running the marathon, too?” Many are easy to spot because they are wearing T-shirts saying “I am running in the New York Marathon 11/1/2009”.  And lots of people are walking around in running clothes as if they didn’t bring anything else to wear.  But I am hoping that there are some more like me who don’t spend all their time running or wearing running clothes. I was the only person I saw at the registration expo who wasn’t wearing a running/outdoor pursuits anorak. Everyone else looked very athletic and like they have run many marathons.

I suppose my fear is that I am the only person like me who is slow and has never done this before and is going to take five hours or more. I really don’t want to be last.

Anyway. It’s been a long road to this point and I am very grateful to everyone who has kindly travelled with me. Including everyone who has kindly and generously sponsored me at my just giving page (here). And thanks to all for your many messages of support for tomorrow. I’m sure it will help me through the run.

I’ll let you know how I get on!

Marathon eve haiku:

It’s been a long road
to the new york marathon.
twenty six miles left.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “11 hours to go – Halloween and feeling quite calm actually”

  1. Simon Pitkeathley Says:

    Good luck!

Leave a comment